Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Future Directions / Projects

M2 internship proposal - Academic year 2021 - 2022

Development of imaging algorithms to follow constitutive heterochromatin dynamics.

Student training profile: Bioinformatics. Bioinformatique.

This project is part of a larger research program studying the impact of environmental hazards on developmental robustness of organ development using Drosophila melanogaster as a model system. Developmental robustness is understood here as the invariance of an organ in face of a set of intrinsic and extrinsic disturbances during its formation. We propose to analyse the organisation of constitutive heterochromatin during cell fate determination and differentiation as well as after the cellular response to these environmental risks. Constitutive heterochromatin is a condensed form of chromatin that has been proposed to have a major role on nuclei structural organisation as well as on silencing of gene expression. It is known to be affected by environmental factors (lead, temperature) and present data suggest that it plays a role on the robustness of organogenesis.

We will study the constitutive heterochromatin dynamics during mechanosensory organ morphogenesis in control and under different experimental conditions (different developmental times or hazardous conditions). To follow the constitutive heterochromatin, we will use fly lines expressing (1) a fluorescent form of the specific heterochromatin binding protein HP1 and (2) a fluorescent form of lamin to visualize the nucleus. The analysis will be performed on so-called 5D recordings (three dimensional images, in conjunction with temporal and fluorescence channels). The student will participate to develop image analysis algorithms in order to (1) identify (ie numerical segmentation) the nuclei within an epithelial tissue, (2) identify heterochromatin inside each nuclei and (3) extract different parameters of the heterochromatin, such as size, texture, number of lobes, intra-nuclear position. The first part of the project, nuclei segmentation, will be based on state of the art deep-learning methods, such as StarDist or CellPose, or any relevant methods. The second part, chromatin segmentation and analysis, will rely largely on the 3D ImageJ Suite developed by T. Boudier at the IBPS. Nowadays, the segmentation of nuclei from 3D images is still challenging. Given the growing interest in the analysis of intranuclear structures, the student will participate in the development of user-friendly tools that can be generalized for other purposes as well as to other tissues and biological models.

The student will benefit from two areas of expertise. On the one hand, he / she will work closely with Jean-François Gilles, an expert in 3D image processing and analysis who is part of the IBPS Imaging Platform and on the other hand, with the team of M. Gho, who has developed a great expertise in in vivo recording techniques applied to the Drosophila model.

Contacts :  mailto:michel.gho@sorbonne-universite.fr

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Proposition de stage

Proposition de stage de M2 – Année universitaire 2021 – 2022

Développement d’algorithmes d’imagerie pour suivre la dynamique de l’hétérochromatine constitutive.

Profil de formation de l’étudiant : Bioinformatique.

Ce projet fait partie d’un programme de recherche plus vaste étudiant l’impact des risques environnementaux sur la robustesse développementale en utilisant comme système modèle les organes sensoriels de Drosophila melanogaster. La robustesse développementale est entendue ici comme l’invariance d’un organe face à un ensemble de perturbations intrinsèques et extrinsèques lors de sa formation. Dans ce contexte, nous proposons d’analyser l’organisation de l’hétérochromatine constitutive lors de la détermination et de l’acquisition de l’identité cellulaire ainsi que lors de la réponse cellulaire aux stress environnementaux. L’hétérochromatine constitutive est une forme condensée de chromatine qui a un rôle majeur dans l’organisation structurale des noyaux ainsi que sur la régulation de l’expression génique. Elle est connue pour être affectée par des facteurs environnementaux (plomb, température) et les données actuelles suggèrent qu’elle joue un rôle dans la robustesse de l’organogenèse.

Nous étudierons la dynamique de l’hétérochromatine constitutive lors de la morphogenèse des organes mécanosensoriels dans des conditions contrôles et dans des conditions de stress (variations de température, rayonnement). Pour suivre l’hétérochromatine constitutive, nous utiliserons des lignées de mouches exprimant (1) une forme fluorescente de la protéine HP1, un facteur qui se lie spécifiquement à l’hétérochromatine constitutive et (2) une forme fluorescente de la lamine afin de delimiter les noyaux. L’analyse sera réalisée sur des enregistrements dits 5D (images tridimensionnelles de deux canaux fluorescents au cours du temps). L’étudiant(e) participera au développement d’algorithmes d’analyse d’images 5D afin de (1) identifier (c’est-à-dire segmenter numériquement) les noyaux dans un tissu épithélial, (2) identifier l’hétérochromatine à l’intérieur de chaque noyau et (3) extraire différents paramètres de l’hétérochromatine, tels que la taille, la texture, le nombre de lobes, la position intra-nucléaire. La première partie du projet, la segmentation des noyaux, sera basée sur des méthodes de deep-learning, telles que StarDist ou CellPose, ou toute autre méthode pertinente. La seconde partie, segmentation et analyse de la chromatine, s’appuiera largement sur le protocole « 3D ImageJ Suite » développée par Thomas Boudier à l’IBPS. Vu l’intérêt croissant pour l’analyse des structures intranucléaires, l’étudiant(e) ainsi participera au développement d’outils conviviaux pouvant être généralisés à d’autres fins ainsi qu’à d’autres tissus et modèles biologiques.

L’étudient(e) bénéficiera de deux domaines d’expertises. D’une part, il/elle travaillera étroitement avec Jean-François Gilles, un expert en traitement et analyse d’images 3D qui fait partie de la plateforme d’imagerie de l’IBPS et d’autre part, avec l’équipe de M. Gho, laquelle a développé une grande expertise dans les techniques d’enregistrement in vivo appliquées au modèle de la drosophile.

Contacts :  mailto:michel.gho@sorbonne-universite.fr