Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Microdissection of Sensory Organ Precursor cells

Notum dissection
The notum from neuralized-GAL4 UAS-mCD8::GFP pupae were dissected out in cold PBS and fixed in cold absolute ethanol for 10 minutes. Three to five fixed nota were transferred directly from ethanol with a Pasteur pipette and then carefully flattened and dried with the epithelium facing down on a thermolabile membrane slides for laser microdissection. For better RNA yield and integrity, we dissect, fix, and mount the tissue just before microdissection.

Laser Microdissection

Laser microdissection was originally realized on a MMI cellcut microdissection system coupled to an Eclipse TE-2000 inverted fluorescent microscope (Nikon Instrument). The parameters used were: focus 40, speed 1, power 74 at objective 60X. The SOPs expressing GFP were circled manually by using a circle radius of 9 m. We took care to leave space between the laser circle and the cell border to preserve RNA (around 5 m). Selected areas were cut from the tissue by an UV laser beam. Four to height laser rounds were required to cut through a notum. The success of the cell capture was visually confirmed by the gaps in the tissue (Figure). We collected around 20-50 cells on a cap, 20 l of extraction buffer was put directly on the cap of the tube, and then the tube was store at –80°C upside down. We pooled around 20-40 tubes to proceed to the RNA extraction. Thus, we collected around 800 SOPs for one RNA sample.

RNA Extraction and Amplification
Total RNA was extracted from microdissected cells by using the picopure RNA isolation kit (Molecular devices - Arcturus) following manufactures instructions with minor modifications as described below. We incubated the tubes containing microdissected cells with 20 ml of extraction buffer at 42°C upside down for 30 min. Then, after centrifugation, the extracts pooled were passed through a single RNA purification column. During purification, we treated the column with DNAse I (Qiagen) for 30 min at room temperature to avoid genomic DNA contamination. We obtained 0,1–0,5 μg of total RNA from a sample of 1000 microdissected cells. After extraction, RNA was amplified by using the Message AmpII aRNA Amplification Kit (Ambion). We proceeded with two rounds (9 h each) of in vitro transcription. After each round, the RNA purification column was treated by DNAse I (Qiagen) for 10 min at room temperature before aRNA elution. For better RNA integrity, we carried out all the amplification processes in one step directly after RNA extraction to avoid freezing the sample. Indeed, in addition to the usual recommendations about manipulating RNA, we avoided, as much as possible, freezing both the tissue before microdissection and the RNA samples between extraction and amplification. After two rounds of amplification, we obtained 20–50 μg of aRNA from a sample of 1000 microdissected cells.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Microdissection des cellules précurseurs des organes sensoriels

Dissection de notum
Des nota de pupes Neuralized-GAL4 UAS-GFP :: mCD8 sont disséqués dans du PBS froid et fixés dans l’éthanol absolu froid pendant 10 minutes. Trois à cinq nota fixés sont ensuite transférés sur une lame pour microdissection laser avec membrane thermolabile, aplatis soigneusement et séchés, l’épithélium étant tourné vers le bas. Pour améliorer le rendement et la qualité des ARNs, nous disséquons, fixons et montons les nota juste avant la microdissection.

La microdissection laser

La microdissection laser est réalisée sur un système MMI de microdissection CellCut couplé à un microscope inversé à fluorescence Eclipse TE-2000 (Instrument Nikon). Les paramètres utilisés sont les suivants: focus 40, vitesse 1, puissance 74 à l’objectif X60. Les SOP exprimant la GFP ont été découpés par le laser UV suivant un cercle de 9 um de rayon. Nous avons pris soin de laisser un espace entre le cercle laser et la bordure de la cellule pour préserver l’ARN (environ 5 um). Quatre à huit passages du laser sont nécessaires pour découper le notum. Le succès de la capture des cellules est confirmé visuellement par les trous visibles dans le tissu (Figure). Nous collectons environ 20 à 50 cellules sur un bouchon, 20 ul de tampon d’extraction sont déposés directement sur le bouchon du tube, puis le tube est conservée à -80 ° C (bouchon vers le bas). Nous regroupons 20 à 40 tubes afin de procéder à l’extraction des ARNs. Ainsi, nous collectons environ 1000 SOP  pour un échantillon d’ARN.

Extraction d’ARN et amplification
L’ARN total est extrait des cellules prélevées par microdissection en utilisant le kit d’isolement d’ARN PicoPure (Molecular Devices – Arcturus), en suivant les instructions du fabricant avec des modifications mineures, comme décrit ci-dessous. Nous avons incubé les tubes à l’envers contenant les cellules microdisséquées avec 20 ul de tampon d’extraction à 42 ° C pendant 30 min. Puis, après centrifugation, les extraits sont regroupés et passés sur une colonne de purification d’ARN. Lors de la purification, la colonne est traitée avec la DNAse I (Qiagen) pendant 30 min à température ambiante pour éviter toute contamination d’ADN génomique. Nous obtenons 0,1-0,5 μg d’ARN totaux à partir d’un échantillon de 1000 cellules microdisséquées. Après extraction, l’ARN est amplifié en utilisant le kit d’amplification Message AmpII ARNa (Ambion). Nous avons procédé à deux tours (de 9 h chacun) de transcription in vitro. Pour une meilleure intégrité de l’ARN, nous avons réalisé tous les procédés d’amplification en une seule étape, directement après extraction de l’ARN pour éviter de congeler l’échantillon. En effet, en plus des recommandations habituelles concernant la manipulation de l’ARN, nous avons évité, autant que possible, la congélation du tissu avant la microdissection ainsi que celles des échantillons d’ARN entre l’extraction et l’amplification. Après deux tours d’amplification, nous avons obtenu de 20 à 50 μg de ARNc  à partir d’un échantillon de 1000 cellules microdisséquées.